As a Miami criminal attorney, I have dealt with a wide array of charges that fall under Florida's 10-20-Life law. Basically, if your crime involves the possession of a firearm - for instance, armed burglary - the minimum sentence a judge can impose is 10 years, because of the possession of the firearm. If your crime involves the discharge, or firing of a gun during the commission of a crime, the mandatory minimum is 20 years. If the firing of the gun results in death or great bodily harm to someone, the mandatory minimum is 25 years to life.
A few exceptions are aggravated assault with a firearm, and possession of a firearm by a convicted felony. Both crimes carry 3 year mandatory prison sentences instead of 10. Aggravated assault with a firearm would be the aiming of a gun at somebody with the intent to frighten them. Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon means the actual (on your person) possession of a firearm by someone with a prior felony conviction.
Gun crimes are taken very seriously by the State Attorney's Office. If you or someone you know is charged with a crime that could subject them to Florida's harsh gun laws, please call me right away.