Extradition in Florida is the process by which a person, charged with a crime in another state, is located within the State of Florida and returned to their home state.
Extradition law in Florida requires the Governor to sign a warrant returning the accused to their home state.
It sort of works like this:
You are charged with a crime in another state and you flee to Florida. You fail to appear in court for a hearing or an arrest warrant has been issued by a police agency in your home state. It may also be a probation violation or parole violation in your home state. Either way, there are criminal charges in your home state and you have gone to Florida.
A warrant is issued in your home state. With technology as it is, nearly every state, federal, and local police agency in the country (and sometimes in the world through INTERPOL) will have electronic information about your warrant. Most, if not all, felony warrants are extradition warrants, meaning that your home state is willing to have you brought back to the jurisdiction. Misdemeanor warrants are typically non-extradition warrants, such as bench warrants.
You are located in Florida with out-of-state charges. A Florida police agency will take you into custody to go before a judge. The state demanding your return (your home state) has 30 days to get a Governor's warrant and bring you back to your home state unless you waive extradition (in which your home state can take its sweet time).
A 60-day extension can be granted if the home state hasn't obtained a Governor's warrant. You cannot be held without a Governor's warrant for longer than 90 days.
Bonds can be set in some extradition cases but this happens rarely.
If you are in Florida and you have out-of-state charges, it is wise to retain a criminal defense attorney in the State of Florida to fight your extradition.