Miami-Dade County Hit & Run Lawyer
Hit & Run Defense in South Florida
Hit and run is a traffic offense that could result in a felony conviction, especially if it is associated with reckless driving or drunk driving (or DUI of drugs). The penalties for this traffic offense are very severe-especially if it involves the death or serious injury of another person. If you or someone you care about has been charged for hit and run, you need a Miami-Dade County criminal lawyer today.
It is possible that you could be facing life in prison if law enforcement or the criminal courts have associated you with a car accident involving manslaughter. Don't leave yourself open to the harsh penalties associated with this crime; consult with a hit and run defense attorney at The Law Offices of Eric M. Matheny, P.A. to see what may be done for your case!
What Constitutes a “Hit & Run” Accident?
The term "hit and run" encompasses any act where the driver of a car involved in a vehicle accident leaves the scene without exchanging required information with the other driver or authorities. Florida law also stipulates that there should be reasonable attempts to render aid when involved in a car crash and there is an ability to do so.
To leave the scene of an accident where there is property damage or injury can result in jail or prison time and substantial fines if a conviction is obtained. A Miami-Dade County hit and run attorney may be able to represent you in your case and help you avoid these severe penalties.
Penalties For a Hit & Run
In the state of Florida a hit & run can be charged as either a misdemeanor of felony depending on the circumstances of your case:
- If there is only property damage and no injuries than you can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor and face the up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500.
- If there are injuries involved, you can be charged with a third-degree felony and face up to 5 years in prison.
- If these injuries are serious, this could lead to a second-degree felony and you could face 15 years in prison.
- If your hit & run accident leads to someone's death then you can be charged with a first-degree felony and be facing 30 years in prison.
A Miami-Dade Hit & Run Lawyer May be Able to Help You!
A hit and run attorney at our firm is knowledgeable in a variety of criminal defense practice areas. We have been able to get successful outcomes to cases where the client had no hope. See what we may be able to do for you.
Contact a Miami-Dade County Hit and Run Attorney at our firm as soon as you can after criminal charges have been made against you!
Client TestimonialsWhat Our Clients Have to Say
“Eric is a great lawyer.”- Former Client
“In a stressful and confusing time Eric was like a breeze of fresh air.”- Camila
“If you want the best look no further.”- Michael