Skip to Content
South Florida Criminal Attorney
Free Case Evaluation 305-504-6655 | 305-542-9491

First DUI With A High Blow: .15 Or Higher

Aggressive Trial Attorney With a Reputation for Success

A First DUI where the breath alcohol reading is .15 or higher is considered an enhanced DUI.  The penalties are much greater than if the breath reading is less than .15.

First of all, the customary fine of $500 for a first DUI will increase to $1000 for a DUI with a breath alcohol reading of .15 or higher.  Also, the Court will require you to place an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle (the device that you have to blow in order to start your car or continue to operate your car).

All other First DUI conditions will remain, including Probation, DUI School with treatment (if required), a driver's license suspension, 10-day vehicle immobilization, and 50 community service hours.  

Eric Matheny is a DUI attorney representing clients throughout South Florida, including Miami-Dade County, Broward County, and Palm Beach County.