3rd degree felonies are some of the most common felony offenses committed
in Florida. In my experience as a
South Florida criminal defense attorney, I find that most of my first-time offender clients find themselves charged
with 3rd degree felonies.
A 3rd degree felony is a felony charge - meaning that it's serious
- but on the spectrum from most serious to least serious, 3rd degree felonies
are the least serious felonies.
Still, you should NEVER go into criminal court without an attorney for
a felony charge. In fact, all people charged with felonies are given attorneys
if they cannot afford them. This is because the courts understand how
serious felony charges are, and that everybody charged with a felony is
facing a maximum sentence of state prison.
3rd degree felonies are punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison. If
you are a Habitual Offender (HO), you face 10 years for most 3rd degree felonies.
The penalties for 3rd degree felonies can range from PTI (Pretrial Intervention),
all the way up to prison.
For the most part, 3rd degree felonies are non-violent property crimes
and drug possession-level offenses.
These are just some 3rd degree felonies.
Some 3rd degree felonies carry mandatory minimum sentences, such as aggravated
assault with a firearm, and felony DUI.
If charged with a 3rd degree felony, you should contact a criminal lawyer
immediately. Quick work on the part of your attorney may result in felony
charges being reduced to misdemeanor charges prior to filing.
Otherwise, if felony charges are filed, your criminal attorney should take
depositions and investigate the case thoroughly in order to get the client
the best possible outcome.
I represent clients charged with 3rd degree felonies in Miami-Dade and Broward.
to discuss your case.