Under normal circumstances, reckless driving is a misdemeanor in the State of Florida. For your first offense, the maximum penalty is a $500 fine and 90 days in jail. For your second offense, the maximum penalty is a $1000 fine and 6 months in jail.
Click here to learn more about the maximum penalties for reckless driving in the State of Florida.
However, did you know that reckless driving can be enhanced to a felony? Florida law provides that under certain circumstances, reckless driving can become a serious felony offense.
Serious bodily injury is defined as any person injury to another person, including a physical condition which causes a substantial risk of death, impairment of function in any organ or bodily member, personal disfigurement or scarring.
Eric Matheny is a criminal defense attorney serving Miami-Dade and Broward. To discuss your reckless driving case, call Attorney Eric Matheny today.